Who sent out an ITFC steward to try and move us on when selling Turnstile Blues today?

I was selling Turnstile Blues on the public highway out the back of the North Stand this afternoon, and after a few minutes was approached by one of the ITFC senior stewards from the North Stand.

He told me I couldn’t sell there, and asked me if I had a licence to sell. I replied that I didn’t need one.

He said “Yes, you do, you need a licence to trade on the street”.

“Who from?” I replied.

“The council,” he told me.

“I don’t. You’re mistaken. But, if that was the case, it would be the business of the council. I wasn’t aware ITFC stewards had council enforcement powers.”

I pointed out that the selling of newspapers and pamphlets is exempt from needing street trading consent. The steward only gave up when I called over another TB seller who happens to be a Ipswich Borough councillor, who reiterated what I told him.

Another of our sellers on Portman Road was asked by a steward what he was doing, and kept a close eye on him for five minutes before he lost interest and wandered off.

Contributors to this fanzine who have been involved in editing and selling other ITFC fanzines report never having been bothered by or attempts made to obstruct their sales by ITFC staff or stewards previously. We will leave you to draw your own conclusions.

Thanks though to the several stewards who bought a copy of Turnstile Blues today . We hope you enjoy reading it.

Leave a Reply

